Texas Golf Association, Since 1906

Back to Blog

Women's West Texas Golf Association

With the 2016 Women’s Senior Stroke Play Championship beginning today in Amarillo, the thoughts and aspirations of Texas’ amateur golfers will be focused on the Panhandle and West Texas.
The Women’s West Texas Golf Association was founded in 1935.  At the time of its founding, “Babe” Zaharias was the reigning WTGA State Amateur Champion, Franklin Delano Roosevelt was President, and nylon had just been invented!  This group was formed in order to “to promote and maintain the best interests of the game of golf and promote good fellowship and encourage good sportsmanship among the women golfers of West Texas”.  They also began hosting the Women’s West Texas Amateur Championship that has become a coveted prize on Texas golf resumes for more than 80 years.
Texas Golf Hall of Fame member Aniela Goldthwaite claimed the inaugural title at Lubbock Country Club.  Over the course of the next 80 years, she was joined by the greatest players in Texas history including Sandra Palmer, Polly Riley, Marty Leonard, Pat Garner Stapler, Agatha Lee, Rosemary Thompson, Marian Barker, and many more.  Jane Meyer defeated 12-time champion Marian Barker to claim the title in 2016.  Learn more about the Women’s West Texas Golf Association HERE.
100 Texas Women is a blog with each post featuring a different notable woman from the history of Texas golf.  You can honor these women and invest in the next 100 years of women's golf by contributing to the Breaking 100 campaign.  All proceeds benefit the TGA Foundations' Women's Initiatives.  Learn more and support the campaign here.
Post Comment
Please enter the 6-character code above:
Breaking 100
Women's Home
Subscribe to the Blog
Stay Connected

Celebrate Lives by making a contribution to 100 Texas Women
All proceeds benefit the Breaking 100 Campaign

PGA Superstore