2009 Senior Stroke Play Results

Georgetown, TX - The 2009 Senior Stroke Play Championship was played at White Wing Golf Club in Georgetown, Texas October 12th – 15th. White Wing Golf Club is located in Sun City and known for its beautiful terrain and challenging hazards. The course provides a beautiful backdrop including an integral part of several holes, Berry Creek. The format was 54 holes of stroke play, but due to weather the championship was cut to 36 holes. Round 1 acted as the qualifying round and then the players were flighted for round 2. The top four players in each flight were awarded prizes.

On Tuesday the first round began with a shotgun start at 8:30 a.m. After the contestants played a couple holes the round was cancelled due to weather. The players later gathered on Tuesday afternoon to enjoy a BBQ in the pavilion located in Sun City. On Wednesday, the championship began with another 8:30 a.m. shotgun start. Marian Barker shot low round of 73. The Founders Trophy went to Diana Henigan (85) and Marlene Summers (85) of Bentwater Country Club.

The 2rd round was an 8:30 a.m. shotgun on Thursday. The day began with the sun shining ready for a beautiful day. Marion Barker claimed the Overall Champion title shooting 73 and 76. Diane Dill won the Super Super Senior (71+) and Sidney Bowden won the Super Senior award (65-70). Scroll down for complete results and pictures.

2009 WTGA Senior Stroke Play Champion - Marian Barker, Lubbock

Championship Flight

(L to R) Marlene Summers (3rd), Nancy Beck (4th)- Not Pictured-Deb Mielke (1st) and Kim Cure (2nd)

1st Flight

(L to R) Dorinda Boyd (2nd) and Sidney Bowden (4th)-Not Pictured-Nancy Parvin (1st) and Debbie Meyer (3rd)

2nd Flight

(L to R) Dianne Roberts (3rd), Rebecca Jane Jones (1st), and Erica McAlister (2nd)-Not Pictured-Dixie Haddox (4th)

3rd Flight

(L to R) Iris Marquardt (4th), Bobbie Proctor (3rd), Dianna Williams (2nd), and Barbara Van Horn (1st)

4th Flight

(L to R) Mary Lucas (2nd) – Not Pictured-Dorothy Lovett (1st), J Berke (3rd) and Kemberly Barrett (4th)

5th Flight

Bertha Hebert (3rd), Delia Aldrete (1st), and Peggy Kilgore (2nd)-Not Pictured-Dolly Wolf (4th)

Super Senior Winner

Sidney Bowden

Super Super Senior Winner

Diane Dill

Not Pictured - Founders Trophy ~ Bentwater Country Club

Diane Henigan and Marlene Summers


The WTGA extends a special thanks to the Senior Stroke Play Championship committee, Dianne Roberts, Joanne Burleson, Rebecca Dixon, Judy Goforth, Joan Rounsaville, Susie Dodson, Linda Smith, and Cheryl Wood. All of their hard work and dedication made this year’s event very successful.

Related Information
About Women's Golf
Women's Competitions
Women's Alliance
Women's Junior Golf
Women's Volunteers
Women's Partnership
Women's Four-Ball Championship
Texas Golf Association
Site Map
Texas Golf Association

16200 Addison Road #150

Addison, TX 75001

Phone: 214-468-8942 Fax:

Email: info@txga.org

an imavex website