113th Texas Amateur

Willow Brook Country Club
June 16-19, 2022


Provided players are otherwise eligible, exemptions are given to the following:

1) Last five (5) Texas Amateur Champions;
  • 2021: Austyn Reily
  • 2020: Trey Bosco
  • 2019: Ryan Grider (ineligible)
  • 2018: Mitchell Meissner (ineligible)
  • 2017: Zander Lozano (ineligible)
2) Top 15 finishers (and ties) in the previous year’s Texas Amateur;
  • Austyn Reily
  • Jake Doggett
  • JT Pittman
  • Clayton King
  • Michael Heidelbaugh
  • Chris Berzina
  • Shaheen Momin
  • Paul McNamara
  • Connor Adams
  • Christopher Wheeler
  • Trey Bosco
  • Matthew Comegys
  • Andres Acevedo
  • Alex Clouse
  • Cody WInkler
  • Ryan O’Rear

3) Last five (5) Texas Mid-Amateur Champions;

  • 2021: Freddie Janneck
  • 2020: Ryan O’Rear
  • 2019: Christopher Wheeler
  • 2018, 2017: Colby Harwell

4) Top five (5) finishers (and ties) in the previous year’s Texas Mid-Amateur;

  • Freddie Janneck
  • Clay Fullick
  • Aaron Hickman
  • Ryan O’Rear
  • John Yerger
  • William Aycock
  • Eric Lodge

5) Previous year’s Texas Mid-Amateur Match Play Winner & Runner-up;

  • Christopher Wheeler (Winner)
  • Andrew Lawson (Runner-Up)

6) Previous year’s Texas Senior Amateur Champion;

  • Gary Durbin

7) Top 10 finishers (and ties) on the previous year’s TGA Statewide Player of the Year Points List;

  • Christopher Wheeler
  • Aaron Hickman
  • Austyn Reily
  • Ryan O’Rear
  • Jake Doggett
  • Freddie Janneck
  • Colby Harwell
  • Gary Ezmerlian
  • Chris Berzina
  • JT Pittman
  • Travis Vick

8) Top three (3) finishers (and ties) on the previous year’s TGA Regional Player of the Year Points List;

  • North: Gant Bills, Robert Johnson, Christopher Wheeler, Rob Couture
  • South: Padden Nelson, Kevin Liberto, Todd Albert

9) Three (3) Host Club exemptions;
  • Clay Hodge
  • Rory Smith
  • Colton Cavender

10) Top three (3) finishers (and ties) in the previous year’s TGA Regional Amateur, not already exempt, within the top ten (10) finishers;

  • North: Jason Schultz, Alex Higgs, Brody Hanley
  • South: Joshua Lim, Hayes Hamilton, Niko Nebout, Broc Haymon

11) Winner and Runner-up in the current year’s TGA Regional Mid-Amateur;

  • North: Jason Schultz, Scott Maurer
  • South: Daniel Depasquale, Randy Lance

12) Current year’s LJT Byron Nelson Junior Champion;
  • TBD (June 7-9, 2022 at Lakewood Country Club)

13) Previous year’s LJT Texas Junior Amateur Champion (Boys 15-18);

  • Aaron Pounds

14) Previous year’s Texas LJT Player of the Year (Boys 15-18);

  • Sam Dossey

15) Winner and Runner-up in previous year’s West Texas Amateur Championship;

  • Garrett Leek (Winner)
  • Jansen Smith (Runner-up)

16) Top 850 in the R&A/USGA World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) at time of entry.

For complete past results, click here.

The TGA reserves the right to select players to be in the field. Exempt players must complete registration for the event by the published exemption deadline or they will lose their spot in the field.

NOTE: All players who are not exempt under the categories listed above for the 113th Texas Amateur must participate in an 18-hole individual stroke play qualifier. For 113th Texas Amateur Qualifying Information, see the Qualifying Information Tab.