114th Texas Amateur

The Clubs at Houston Oaks

June 15-18, 2023

General Information
Date: June 15-18, 2023
Host Club: The Clubs at Houston Oaks 
TGA Staff Contact: Tournament Director - Justin Guthrie

Entry & Eligibility Information
Entries Open: January 31, 2023 at 9:00 AM
Exempt Entry Deadline: March 29, 2023 at 5:00 PM
Entries Close: March 29, 2023 at 5:00 PM 

Entry Fee: $175 

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers who reside in the state of Texas region with a certified WHS Handicap Index of 6.4 or less. Please reference TGA Policies and Procedures for further details, including Policies and Procedures, and Terms of Competition.

Entry Procedure/Qualifying: All players who are not exempt must qualify via an 18-hole qualifying round. Please see “Exemptions” tab for list for the list of exempt players. Exempt players must register by the published exempt entry deadline. Qualifying round starting times, pairings and additional information is available to view on the Qualifying Information page.

Championship Information

Format/Field Size: Play will be contested over 72 holes of stroke play. The field is limited to 144 players; at the completion of 36 holes the field will be cut to the low 54 players and ties.

Automated Transportation Prohibited: Players and their caddies must walk at all times during the practice round and all stipulated rounds of the championship, unless being shuttled by a member of the Committee or authorized shuttle. Push/pull carts will be permitted, but players are responsible for supplying their own.

Practice Round Information: Each player is allowed one (1) complimentary practice round on June 14, 2023 only. Players must contact the host club golf shop directly on, or after, Thursday, June 8 to schedule a practice round tee time. The golf shop direct number is (936) 372-4301.

Registration Information: Player registration will be held on June 14, 2023. If a player cannot make registration, he must notify the TGA staff that he is unable to make the registration deadline, but will be competing in the championship. Those players not contacting a TGA Official by 5:00 PM on June 14, 2023 are subject to forfeiting their playing position.

Starting Times/Pairings Information: Starting times / pairings for the first and second rounds will be made no later than June 12, 2023 online at www.txga.org. Third and final rounds starting times/pairings will be available in the evening preceding play (approximately one hour after the completion of play) online at www.txga.org. Final round starting times/pairings will be re-drawn based on total score following the previous round of play.

For complete championship information, click here.   

Schedule of Events

Tuesday, January 31 
9:00 AM - Registration Open

Wednesday, March 29 
5:00 PM - Registration Exempt Deadline/Registration Close

Qualifying Window: April 4 - May 26, 2023

Last Chance Qualifying: June 5, 2023 (Houston) and June 6, 2023 (DFW)

Monday, June 12
5:00 PM - Player Information  & Round 1/2 Pairings Released

Wednesday, June 14
8:00 AM - Player Registration & Practice Rounds
6:00 PM - Golf Course Closes
6:30 PM - Player Welcome Reception

Thursday, June 15
6:30 AM - Player Breakfast
7:30 AM - Round 1, Wave 1 begins (#1 & #10 Tees)
11:30 AM - Player Lunch
12:30 PM - Round 1, Wave 2 begins (#1 & #10 Tees)

Friday, June 16
6:30 AM - Player Breakfast
7:30 AM - Round 2, Wave 1 begins (#1 & #10 Tees)
11:30 AM - Player Lunch
12:30 PM - Round 2, Wave 2 begins (#1 & #10 Tees)
Following Play - Field cut to low 54 players (and ties)

Saturday, June 17
6:30 AM - Player Breakfast
7:30 AM - Round 3 Begins (#1 & #10 Tees)
12:00 PM - Player Lunch

Sunday, June 18
6:30 AM - Player Breakfast
7:30 AM - Round 4 Begins (#1 & #10 Tees)
12:00 PM - Player Lunch
Following Play - Awards Presentation

Provided players are otherwise eligible, exemptions are given to the following:

a) Last five (5) Texas Amateur Champions

  • Holden Wisener ('22), Austyn Reily ('21), Trey Bosco ('20), Ryan Grider* ('19), Mitchell Meissner* ('18)

b) Top fifteen (15) finishers and ties in the previous year’s Texas Amateur 

  • Holden Wisener, Bobby Massa, Jake Doggett*, Zach Atkinson, Hayes Hamilton, Francois Jacobs, Travis Woolf, Hunter Bott, Jason Schultz, Garrett Leek, Matthew Watkins, Cody Winkler, Ryan O'Rear, Frederick Janneck, Rob Couture

c) Last five (5) Texas Mid-Amateur Champions

  • Ryan O'Rear ('22), Frederick Janneck ('21), Ryan O'Rear ('20), Christopher Wheeler ('19), Colby Harwell ('18)

d) Top five (5) finishers and ties in the previous year’s Texas Mid-Amateur

  • Ryan O'Rear, Zach Atkinson, Christopher Wheeler, Frederick Janneck, Colby Amparan

e) Previous year’s Texas Mid-Amateur Match Play winner and Runner-up

  • Jason Schultz, Rob Couture

f) Previous year’s Texas Senior Amateur Champion

  • Sandy Pierce

g) Top ten (10) finishers and ties from the previous year’s TGA State Player of the Year Points list

  • Zach Atkinson, Jason Schultz, Ryan O'Rear, Christopher Wheeler, Holden Wisener, Frederick Janneck, Bobby Massa, Jake Doggett*, Rob Couture, Travis Vick, Travis Woolf

h) Top three (3) finishers and ties from the previous year’s TGA Regional Player of the Year Points list

  • North: Christopher Wheeler, Jason Schultz, Kevin Doskocil
  • South: Dan Depasquale, Brian Comegys, Casey Carnes

i) Top two (2) finishers and ties in the current year’s Regional Mid-Amateurs

  • North: CJ Brock, Brock Mulder
  • South: Logan Thomason, Logan Boatner, John Hunter, Juan Salcedo, Otto Iskandar

j) Top three (3) finishers and ties in the previous year’s Regional Amateurs

  • North: Jason Schultz, Seth Murphy, Kevin Doskocil
  • South: Brian Comegys, David Harrison, Holden Hamilton

k) Top three (3) finishers and ties in the previous year’s West Texas Amateur Championship

  • Casey Carnes, Nolan Otto, Josh Pasco, Justin Thompson, Jake Leatherwood

l) Current year’s LJT Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Champion

m) Previous year’s LJT Texas Junior Amateur Champion (Boys Division)

  • Jaivir Pande

n) Previous year’s LJT Player of the Year (Boys 15-18)

  • Trenton Mierl

o) Top 1,000 in the R&A/USGA World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) as of Registration Open Date

p) Three (3) host club exemptions

* indicates player is ineligible 

114th Texas Amateur Qualifying Schedule

Entries Open: January 31, 2023 at 9:00 AM
Exempt Entry Deadline: March 29, 2023 at 5:00 PM
Entries Close: March 29, 2023 at 5:00 PM
Qualifying TGA Staff Contact: Tournament Coordinator – Owen Kinney

Entry Fee: $175

April 10
East 1
Beaumont CC
April 11
West 1
Frio Valley Ranch GC
April 23
DFW 1 (Weekend)
Firewheel Golf Park (Lakes Course)
April 24
Houston 1
Riverbend CC
Sugar Land
April 25
Rusted Rail GC
April 30
Houston 2 (Weekend)
Sterling CC
May 2
West 2
Hillcrest CC
May 11
Hill Country 1
Corpus Christi CC
Corpus Christi
May 18
East 2
Tempest GC
May 20
Hill Country 2 (Weekend)
Delaware Springs GC
May 22
Houston 3
The Club at Falcon Point
May 23
Waterview GC

Last Chance Qualifying Schedule

June 5
Houston- Last Chance
April Sound CC (Blue-White)
June 6
DFW - Last Chance
Cross Timbers GC

For complete qualifying information, click here.