Salcedos Win Weather-Shortened Father-Son

Salcedos Capture Weather-Shortened Father-Son
Large Margins of Victory in the Net Flights

Kingwood, TX – A lightning filled storm brought play to a halt for the Championship and Presidents Flights Sunday afternoon.  Since not all the teams were able to complete their third rounds, the final results were based on their 36-hole total scores.  Juan and Jose Salcedo claimed their second victory in this championship, while co-champions were awarded in the Presidents Flight.  Luckily for those playing in the Net Flights, weather was not an issue for the morning wave and all teams completed their final round.

Juan and Juan Jose Salcedo carded four-ball rounds of 65 and 68 to finish at eleven under-par for the week.  That total was good for a one shot victory and their second Father-Son Championship, adding to their victory in 2008.  Ken and Trent Redfern fired rounds of 65 and 69 to finish one shot off the pace.   The Presidents Flight was formed after the second round, and although they were not able to complete play co-champions were declared.  Bob and Robert Haslam tied Gene and Jean-Paul Aube with a two day total of one under-par.  The Haslam team carded rounds of 71 and 72, while the Aubes fired 73 and 70 to tie at the top of the flight.

The team of Craig and Scott Maurer claimed a two shot victory in the Hogan Flight.  With rounds of net 68-62-67, the Maurer team finished at nineteen under-par for the week.  The Maurers made six birdies to overcome a lone bogey in the final round.  Douglas and David Northcutt finished second in the flight, after a final round of net 68 left them at seventeen under-par.  In the Nelson Flight, the team of Randy Mattingley and Trey Rowe claimed a wire-to-wire victory.  Mattingley and Rowe cruised to a five stroke win with rounds of net 59-67-65.  Chris and Garon Goodspeed made a charge with a final round of net 61 to move up the leader board and take second place in the flight.

The Crenshaw Flight saw another wire-to-wire victory as Dennis and Mark Miller won by a commanding eight shots.  The Miller team made seven birdies, an eagle, and one bogey in their final round to finish at twenty-six under-par for the week.  Skip and Jacob Kaup fired a final round of net 67 to finish alone in second place.   The team of Larry and James Caraway took home the title in the Kite Flight thanks to three straight rounds of net 66.  The Carways finished at eighteen under-par for the week, which was good enough for a six shot victory.  Overnight co-leaders, Jimmy and Ron Hill turned in a final round of net 72 to fall into second place in the flight. 

The Championship Flight played gross four-ball during the first two rounds.  After two rounds, the top 20 teams and ties were scheduled to play a combined score format for the final round to determine the overall champions.  The remaining teams from the Championship Flight formed the Presidents Flight and were scheduled to playd a third round of gross four-ball.  All other flights (Hogan, Nelson, Crenshaw, and Kite) played three rounds of net four-ball.