95th West Texas Amateur

Diamondback Golf Club

July 21-23, 2023


General Information

Date: July 21-23, 2023
Host Club: Diamondback Golf Club
Address: 1510 E. Industrial Blvd., Abilene, Texas 79602
Phone: (325) 690-9190
TGA Staff Contact: Tournament Coordinator – Owen Kinney

Click here to purchase Strackaline Yardage Book

Click here to book your Hotel in Abilene

Entry & Eligibility Information

Entries Open: May 24, 2023 at 9:00 AM
Exempt Entry Deadline: June 14, 2023 at 5:00 PM
Entries Close: July 14, 2023 at 5:00 PM

Entry Fee: $290

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers who reside in the northern and southern regions of the state of Texas who have a WHS Handicap index of 10.0 or less. To be eligible for the Senior Division, golfers must be age 55 or older as of the first round of tournament play. To be eligible for the Super Senior Division, golfers must be age 65 or older as of the first round of tournament play. Please reference TGA Competition Policies for further details, including Policies and Procedures, and Terms of Competition.

Entry Procedure: The field will be established in the order in which entries are received with a priority for exempt players in each division until the published exemption deadline of Wednesday, June 14 at 5:00 PM. Once the exemption deadline has passed, and if the field or a division is not full, the TGA will fill the remaining spots in the field with waitlisted entries, which may affect the size of each division. For additional information regarding the wait list and when the number of applicants exceeds the field capacity, please refer TGA Competition Policies.

Exemptions: Provided players are otherwise eligible, exemptions are given to the following:

a) Top five (5) finishers and ties in current year’s North & South Mid-Amateur

  • North – C.J. Brock, Brock Mulder, Kendrick Vinar, Ryan Zamorano, Joe Seth Murphy
  • South – Logan Thomason, Logan Boatner, John Hunter, Juan Salcedo Signoret, Otto Iskandar

b) Top five (5) finishers and ties in previous year’s North & South Amateur

  • Jason Schultz, Joe Seth Murphy, Kevin Doskocil, Adam Valickus, Sam Sewell, Clayton Smith, Christopher Wheeler, Brian Comegys, David Harrison, Holden Hamilton, Christian Barber, Joseph R Mathis

c) Last five (5) West Texas Amateur Champions

  • Casey Carnes (’22), Garrett Leek (’21), J.T. Pittman (’20), Jackson Markham (’19), David Bolen (’18)

d) Last five (5) West Texas Amateur Senior Division Champions

  • Kelly Eng (’22), Mike Booker (’21), Lewis Stephenson (’20), Chuck Palmer (’19), Ralph Ellis (’18)

e) Last five (5) West Texas Amateur Super Senior Division Champions

  • Mike Peck (’22), Craig Urban (’21), Doug Hopton-Jones (’20), Doug Hopton-Jones (’19), Ed Brooks (’18)

f) Top ten (10) finishers and ties in previous year’s West Texas Amateur

  • Casey Carnes, Nolan Otto, Josh Pasco, Justin Thompson, Jake Leatherwood, Christopher Wheeler, Bryant Hiskey, Logan Diomede, J.T. Pittman, Dan Depasquale

g) Top five (5) finishers and ties in previous year’s West Texas Amateur Senior Division

  • Kelly Eng, Joe Sconiers, Mike Booker, Lewis Stephenson, Jeff Ray, Terry Rice, Rick Houston

h) Top three (5) finishers and ties in previous year’s West Texas Amateur Super Senior Division

  • Mike Peck, Lelan Chiles, Michael Puls, Bobby Haney, Mickey Jones, Doug Hopton-Jones

i) Three (3) Host Club exemptions

  • TBD

The TGA reserves the right to select players to be in the field. For exemption request details, please view TGA Competition Policies. Exempt players must enter by the published deadline or they will lose their exempt status and spot in the final field.

Championship Information

Format/Field Size: The championship will be contested over 54 holes of stroke play with three (3) divisions; Championship, Senior, and Super Senior. Each division will play from separate tees/yardages and separate champions will be recognized in each division.

The field is limited to 144, as outlined below:

  • Championship Division – Open (84 players)
  • Senior Division – 55 & older (42 players)
  • Super Senior Division – 65 & older (18 player)

At the conclusion of 36 holes the field will be cut to the low 72 players (and ties) with a pro-rated representation from each division. The pro-rated allocation of players making the cut from each division will be reflective of the number of players in each division, relative to the total field size. The determination of total field size, number of players in each division and pro-rated representation of players making the cut (before ties) will be announced in conjunction with pairings being posted.

Practice Round Information: Each player is allowed one (1) practice round on Thursday, July 20th only. Practice round green fees are $60.00. Please contact the Diamondback GC golf shop to schedule a practice round.

Registration Information: All competitors must register with Texas Golf Association staff prior to the start of the Championship. Official tournament registration will be held at Diamondback Golf Club on Thursday, July 20 from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM outside the golf shop. Competitors who are unable to register on the date and time listed above must contact Texas Golf Association staff in advance of the Championship.

Starting Times/Pairings Information: Starting times/pairings for the first and second rounds will be made available no later than Tuesday, July 18 online at www.txga.org. Final round starting times/pairings will be available in the evening preceding play (approximately one hour after the completion of play) online at www.txga.org. Final round starting times will be re-drawn based on total score following the previous rounds of play.

Caddies: Caddies are permitted and must adhere to all TGA Competition Policies and host club policies.

Cancellation/Withdrawal Procedure: Prior to the entry deadline players looking to withdraw should do so online through their Golf Genius user profile or by contacting the TGA Staff Contact directly. After the entry deadline has passed players should either call the Texas Golf Association at (214) 468-8942 or email the TGA Staff Contact directly. Only withdrawals on the day of the competition should be directed to the host club golf shop.

Transportation: Players may walk or ride at their own discretion. Cart fees are included in the players entry fee. The TGA ‘One-Seat’ Policy is in effect. Spectators must walk at all times. For more information on TGA ‘One-Seat’ Policy, click here.

Medical Cart: Spectators in accordance of ADA compliance may request golf carts. Requests for golf carts must be supported by complete documentation, including the fully-completed Cart Request Form and the required accompanying medical documentation specified in that form for all first-time requests. Any medical cart request that is granted by the TGA will be good for that individual for the remainder of that calendar season. A request will not be deemed complete until all required information and documentation has been provided. For further information and details contact Senior Tournament Director – Chris Untiedt.

Score Posting: The TGA will post all scores for individual stroke play events to players GHIN number. Players are asked to not post scores for individual TGA stroke play events as it will result in a duplicate posting.

Policies & Procedures: To ensure competitors the best experience at all Texas Golf Association (TGA) events, it is helpful to be knowledgeable of TGA Competition Policies. For complete TGA Competition Policies, click here.