Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship

Lakewood Country Club
June 2-4

J. Holland Humphries Wins Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship

DALLAS – J. Holland Humphries of Austin wins the Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship after a final round of 1-under-par 70. The 2021 Southern Methodist University commit made historic Lakewood Country Club look easy carding red numbers in all three rounds. This is Humphries’ first Legends Junior Tour win which adds to his already decorated junior golf career. READ MORE

Tournament Information

Date: June 2-4, 2020
Host Club: Lakewood Country Club
Address: 6430 Gaston Ave, Dallas, TX 75214
Phone: (214) 821-1491
Tournament Director: Kevin Porter

Entry & Eligibility Information

Entries Open: Wednesday, March 4, 2020 at 9:00 AM CST
Entries Close: Wednesday, May 6, 2020 at 5:00 PM CST
Tournament Fee: $325

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers who have an active membership with the Texas Junior Golf Alliance.

Entry Procedure: The field will be established based off exemptions from the Texas Junior Golf Alliance Schedule. Players with exemptions are required to sign up for the event or reach out to the Legends Junior Tour before registration closes. Players without an exemption must sign up for the event and will be placed on a waiting list and added based on available spots in the field.

Championship Information

Format/Field Size: The championship is schedule for 54 holes of stroke play with a cut to the low 39 players and ties following the second round.

Caddies: Players are NOT permitted a caddie for the 2020 Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship.

Transportation: Players will be required to walk during the championship. Carts for spectators will NOT be allowed for the championship. To reserve a handicap cart, please reach out to Kevin Porter and present your handicap placard to the golf shop each day. 

Please click here for full player information for the Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship.

Schedule of Events

Wednesday, March 4
9:00 AM - Entries Open

Wednesday, May 6
5:00 PM - Entries Close

Friday, May 29
3:00 PM - Pairings Released for First and Second Rounds
3:00 PM - Player Information Sent Out

Monday, June 1
11:00 AM - 2:00 PM - Official Practice Rounds

Tuesday, June 2
7:30 AM - 2:00 PM - Tee Times off #1 tee

Wednesday, June 3
7:30 AM - 2:00 PM - Tee Times off #1 tee
7:00 PM - Cut to Low 39 Players and Ties

Thursday, June 4
7:30 AM - 10:00 AM - Tee Times off #1 tee
Conclusion of Play - Awards Ceremony

Championship Exemptions

A. Past Champions: Gaven Lane
B. Top 15 - 2019 Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship: Randall Fojtasek Jr., Jacob Borow, Matthew Griggs, Cole Sherwood, Tommy Morrison, Hunter Bott, Julio Arronte, Scott Roden, Brandon Massey, Jase Summy, Holden Webb, Michael Heidelbaugh, Sebastian Moss, Matthew Spaulding
C. Top 10 - 2019 Texas Junior Amateur: Zach Heffernan, Stephen Campbell Jr., Evan Vo, Shaheen Momin, Jaivir Pande, Truett Burns, Hanseung Chang, Jackson Naeger
D. Top 10 - 2020 Texas Cup Invitational: Byungho Lee, Jackson Drake, Andrew Spaulding, Nicholas Hance, Trevor Mierl, Alejandro Gonzalez, Songge Jiang, Garrett Endicott
E. Top 5 - 2019 George Hannon Junior Invitational: Henry Frizzell, Jackson Davenport, Jacob Sosa, Jack Wehman, Jacob King, Kaelen Dulany, Zachary Kingsland
F. Top 5 - 2020 Bluebonnet Championship: N/A
G. Top 3 - 2019 Collegiate Preview: 
Dallas Hankamer, Treed Huang, Peyton Johnson
H. Top 5 - 2019 Texas Junior Golf Alliance Invitational: Kevin Watts, Xing Luo, Patrick Kahanek
I. Top 3 - 2020 Winter Classic: Ethan Fang, Andrew Baucum, Ty Holbrook
J. Top 3 - 2020 Jimmy Demaret Junior Classic: Joshua Lee
K. Top 3 - 2020 Spring Preview: Jack Gilbert, Drew Wagner
L. 2019 LJT Tournament Champions: Brody Hanley, Jacob Salazar, Reed Foster, Brian Boles, Matthew Watkins, Andrew Tan, Jeffrey Zatorski
M. Top 10 - 2020 LJT Palyer of the Year Points List (Through Bluebonnet Championship): N/A
N. 2019 Boys 14 & Under Player of the Year: 
Grant Yerger
O. 2020 Boys 14 & Under Points Leader (Through Bluebonnet Championship): Trenton Mierl
P. 2019 Texas Junior Amateur Champion (Boys 14 & Under): 
Ben Delarosa
Q. Top 10 - 2020 Junior Golf Scoreboard Class Through March 4 (TX Only): Vishnu Sadagopan, Nathan Petronzio, Trey Bosco
R. Top 10 - 2021 Junior Golf Scoreboard Class Through March 4 (TX Only): J. Holland Humphries, Ethan Dial, Jay Pabin, Alejandro Alonso 
S. Top 5 - 2022 Junior Golf Scoreboard Class Through March 4 (TX Only): 
Keaton Vo, Jase Summy, Sean-Karl Dobson, Daniel Choi
T. NTPGA: Trevor Algya, Christian Clark, Preston Stout, Shivam Patel, Matthew Foster, Awesome Burnett, Chase Cutler, Jacob Cole
U. STPGA: Hunter Drotts, Christian Barber, Jack Usner
W. Host Club Exemptions: 
Gage Doyle, Luke Gutschewski, Mack Giles
X. Sponsor/Special Exemptions: Peter Michael Clark, Luke Harper
Y. Committee Selected International Players:

The LJT reserves the right to select players to be in the field. Exempt players must enter by the published deadline or they will lose their spot in the field.