Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship

Lakewood Country Club
June 8-10

Tournament Information

Updated COVID-19 Guidelines

Dates: June 8-10, 2021
Host Club: Lakewood Country Club
Address: 6430 Gaston Ave, Dallas, TX 75214
Phone: (214) 821-1491
Tournament Director: Kevin Porter 

Registration Information

Registration Opens: Wednesday, February 2, 2021 at 9:00 AM
Registration Closes: Wednesday, May 19, 2021 at 5:00 PM
Tournament Fee: $325
Divisions: Boys
Field Size: 84 Players

Tournament Eligibility: This is a boys-only event in which all players must have an active membership with a member of the Texas Junior Golf Alliance.

Entry Procedure: Players with exemptions will be added to the field leading up to the Registration Deadline. Players that sign up without an exemption will be added to a waiting list and added based on available spots in the field following the deadline. 

Championship Information

Practice Round Information: The official practice round date is Monday, June 7.  

Registration Information: Players will be able to register before their practice round on Monday, June 7. Players that are not playing a practice round can register before their first round.

Cancellation/Withdrawal Policy: The cancellation deadline is 10 days prior to the tournament start date. For refund details please check the LJT Championship Policies.

Caddies: Players will be permitted a caddie for the Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship. The caddie must not be the parent or legal guardian of the player and the players is responsible for providing the caddie for the event.  

Spectator Carts: Spectator carts are allowed and can be rented from the club for $30 per person. Spectator carts will not be allowed during the practice rounds. Carts will be limited to one cart per player each day. Spectators that rent carts must follow LJT Spectator Policy when operating the cart. 

Click here to see the full player information

Wednesday, February 2
 9:00 AM - Registration Opens

Wednesday, May 19
 5:00 PM - Registration Closes

Friday, June 4
 3:00 PM - Pairings Released

Monday, June 7
 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM - Tournament Registration
 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM - Practice Rounds

Tuesday, June 8
 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM - Round 1 Tee Times off No. 1 & 10
 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM - Lunch Available 

Wednesday, June 9
 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM - Round 2 Tee Times off No. 1 & 10
 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM - Lunch Available
 5:00 PM - Field Cut to Low 36 players and ties

Thursday, June 10
 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM - Final Round Tee Times off No. 1
 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM - Lunch Available

2021 Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship Exemptions

Past Champions: Gaven Lane, J.Holland Humphries
Top 15 – 2020 Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship: Daniel Zou, Keaton Vo, Andrew Spaulding, Jaivir Pande, Jase Summy, Evan Vo
Top 10 – 2020 Texas Junior Amateur: Zach Heffernan, Zachary Kingsland, Matthew Spaulding, Andrew Baucum, Ben Delarosa, Preston Stout, Sean-Karl Dobson, Garrett Endicott
Top 10 – 2021 Texas Cup Invitational: Patrick Kahanek, Awesome Burnett, Hunter Drotts, Julio Alfredo Rios Brache, Byungho Lee, Ty Holbrook, Gage Doyle, Trevor Mierl, Ryan Shellberg
Top 3 – 2021 Bluebonnet Championship:
Top 5 – 2020 George Hannon Junior Invitational: Trevor Algya, Andrew Tan, Truett Burns, Key Coker
Top 3 – 2020 Collegiate Preview: Sam Dossey, Alejandro Gonzalez, Sam Bumgardner
Top 5 – 2020 Texas Junior Golf Alliance Invitational: Kevin Watts, Shoichiro Kato, Tyler Gardner, Will Jordan
Champion – 2021 Winter Classic: Davis Ovard
Champion – 2021 Jimmy Demaret Junior Classic: Brian Comegys
Champion – 2021 Spring Preview: Daniel Moon
2020 LJT Tournament Champions: Ethan Fang, Jack Gilbert, Ben Gregg, Matthew Comgeys, Connor Adams
Top 10 – 2021 LJT Player of the Year Points List (Through Bluebonnet Championship):
2020 Boys 14 & Under Player of the Year: Rhett O’Rear
2021 Boys 14 & Under Points Leader (Through Bluebonnet Championship): 
2020 Texas Junior Amateur Boys 14 & Under Champion: Brooks Simmons
Top 10 – 2021 Junior Golf Scoreboard Class (Through February 1 and Texas only): Jackson Norwich, Bret Gray, Sebastian Moss, Jay Pabin, Joshua German, Jeffrey Zatorksi, Logan Vargas 
Top 10 – 2022 Junior Golf Scoreboard Class (Through February 1 and Texas only): Jacob Sosa, Kaelen Dulany, Karson Grigsby
Top 5 – 2023 Junior Golf Scoreboard Class (Through February 1 and Texas only): Tommy Morrison
NTPGA: Mason Krismer, Alex Huang, Peyton Jones, Rohan Aerrabolu, Jayden Song, Daniel Walters II, Jack Beauchamp, Andrew Petruzzelli, AJ Adams, Westy McCabe
STPGA: Levi Keith, Maximus Cavazos, Esteban Gonzalez, Hayes Hutton, Jackson Hymer, Jake Mayer
Host Club Exemptions: Reese Roberts, Harrison Carter, Mac Duvall
Sponsor/Special Exemptions:
Committee Selected International Players: Francisco Solorza-Gutierrez, Andres Alberto Rodriguez, Gerardo Gomez

The LJT reserves the right to select players to be in the field.  Exempt players must enter by the published deadline or they will lose their spot in the field.