Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship

Lakewood Country Club
June 7-9

General Information

Date: June 7-9, 2022
Host Club: Lakewood Country Club
Address: 6430 Gaston Ave, Dallas, TX 75214
Phone: (214) 821-1491
Tournament Director: Kevin Porter

Entry & Eligibility Information

Entries Open: February 2, 2022 @ 9:00 AM
Entries Close: May 18, 2022 @ 5:00 PM

Entry Fee: $325

Eligibility: This is a boys-only event. Players must have a current membership with a member of the Texas Junior Golf Alliance. Players can renew or sign up with the Northern Texas PGA or the Southern Texas PGA membership to be eligible.

Entry Procedure: Players with exemptions will be added to the field leading up to the Registration Deadline. Players that sign up without exemptions will be placed on a waiting list and put into the field following the deadline and based on available spots.

Championship Information

Format/Field Size: Play will be contested over 54 holes of stroke play. The field is limited to 84 players.

Divisions: Boys

Practice Round Information: The official practice round is Monday, June 6. Players can email Kevin Porter ([email protected]) to request a practice round time between 11:00 am and 2:30 pm. Practice round pairings will be made in groups of four off the No. 1 tee. 

Monday Qualifying: The final spots of the field will be determined by a qualifier held at Lakewood Country Club. Registration for the Monday Qualifier will open on Friday, May 20 at 9:00 am. Players will not be permitted practice rounds for the qualifier. Please do not contact the club asking about practice rounds. Caddies are permitted for the qualifier and players are responsible for providing their own caddie and it cannot be the players' parent or legal guardian.

Registration Information: Players can check in with the Registration Tent outside the golf shop on Monday, June 6 from 11:00 am - 3:00 pm to receive tee gifts. Any players not able to register before their practice round must notify the Tournament Director and can pick up their gifts in scoring following the first round.

Starting Times/Pairings Information: Starting times/pairings for the first and second rounds will be available Friday, June 3. Final round starting times/pairings will be available in the evening preceding play (approximately one hour after the completion of play). There will be a cut to the low 30 players and ties following the second round. Final round starting times/pairings will be re-drawn based on total score following the previous rounds of play.

Caddies: Caddies are permitted for the championship. Players are responsible for providing their own caddie for the event and the caddie cannot be the player’s parent or legal guardian.

Cancellation/Withdrawal Procedure: Players may withdraw themselves from the field and receive a refund up until 10 days before the first round. If you need to withdraw, please contact the Tournament Director and they will instruct you on how to complete the WD. For full refund details, please reference the LJT Competition Policies.

Transportation: Players and caddies will be required to walk during the competition, unless acting under the direction of an LJT Rules Official. Non-motorized push/pull carts will be permitted during the championship.

Spectator Carts: Spectator carts are not allowed at the Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship. Spectators with a handicap placard can email Kevin Porter ([email protected]) to request a cart for the tournament rounds. Carts will not be permitted on Monday, June 6.

Rules of Golf

The Championship will be contested under the 2019 Rules of Golf as approved by the United States Golf Association and R&A, its interpretations and clarifications, 2022 Legends Junior Tour Local Rules and Terms of Competition and any local rules give to the player on their first tee. For information on rules, visit the TGA Rules of Golf Hub.

Wednesday, February 2
 9:00 AM - Registration Opens

Wednesday, May 18
 5:00 PM - Registration Closes

Friday, June 3
 3:00 PM - Pairings Released

Monday, June 6
 8:30 AM - 10:30 AM - Monday Qualifying
 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM - Player Registration
 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM - Practice Rounds
 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM - Lunch Available

Tuesday, June 7
 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM - Round 1 Tee Times off No. 1 & 10
 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM - Lunch Available

Wednesday, June 8
 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM - Round 2 Tee Times off No. 1 & 10
 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM - Lunch Available
 5:00 PM - Field Cut to Low 30 players and ties

Thursday, June 9
 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM - Final Round Tee Times off No. 1
 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM - Lunch Available

A) Past Champions: Gaven Lane, Preston Stout

B) Top 10 – 2021 Veritex Bank Byron Nelson Junior Championship: Jase Summy, Ty Holbrook, Matthew Comegys, Zachary Kingsland, Ben Gregg, Ben Delarosa, Henry Guan

C) Top 5 – 2021 Texas Junior Amateur: Aaron pounds

D) Top 5 – 2022 Texas Cup Invitational: Connor Henry, Parker Sands, Brooks Harper, Chandler Cooke, Holden Webb, Elijah Galvan, David Martinez

E) Top 3 – 2022 Bluebonnet Championship: Grant Yerger, Trenton Mierl

F) Top 3 – 2021 George Hannon Junior Invitational: Sam Dossey, Eyan Edsall

G) Top 3 – 2021 Collegiate Preview: Trevor Algya, Reese Roberts

H) Top 3 – 2021 Texas Junior Golf Alliance Invitational: Andrew Tan, Noah McWilliams

I) Champion – 2022 Winter Classic: Sam Jenkins

J) Champion – 2022 Jimmy Demaret Junior Classic: Sterling Hurd

K) Champion – 2022 Spring Preview: Byungho Lee

L) 2021 LJT Tournament Champions Post ’21 VBBNJC: Grant Doggett, Matthew Foster, Preston Cooper, Palmer Valdez

N) 2021 Boys 14 & Under Player of the Year: Rhett O’Rear

O) 2022 Boys 14 & Under Points Leader (through Bluebonnet Championship): Jack Clancy

P) 2021 Texas Junior Amateur Champion (Boys 14 & Under): Austin Hofferkamp

Q) Top 10 – 2022 Junior Golf Scoreboard Class (through February 2 and Texas only): Jacob Sosa, Garrett Endicott, Keaton Vo, Kaelen Dulany, Christian Clark, Tomek Pickrell

R) Top 10 – 2023 Junior Golf Scoreboard Class (through February 2 and Texas only): Thomas Morrison, Jack Usner, Ethan Fang, Alex Papayoanou, Kistoffer Kuvaas, Jack Gilbert

T) NTPGA: Austin Hofferkamp, Jackson Vesper, Grant Baer, Aiden Tiet, Hunter Millsap, Jack Beauchamp, Noah Holtzman, Braylon Mahanay, Andrew Petruzzelli, Samuel Pampling, Lucas Latimer, Martin Kemp, Gage Gallo, Blake Taylor

U) STPGA: Mitchell Maier, Jaivir Pande, Brennan Young, Wes Helmer, Jaxon Bandelier, Esteban Gonzalez, Asher Vargas, Abhay Duggal, Kevin Mu, Corbin Null, Ian Immenschuh, Nicholas Logis, Maximus Cavasos, Jake Mayer, Whit Bartlett, Armond Walker

V) Host Club Exemptions: Gage Doyle, Harrison Carter, Hayes Carter

W) Sponsor / Special Exemptions: Mac McKenzie, Luke Harper

X) Committee Selected International Players: Francisco Solorza, Andres Rodriguez, Aaron Martin Del Campo

The LJT reserves the right to select players to be in the field. Exempt players must enter by the published deadline or they will lose their spot in the field.