South Senior Amateur

Gus Wortham Golf Course

April 4-5, 2023

General Information
Date: April 4-5, 2023
Host Club: Gus Wortham Park Golf Course 
TGA Staff Contact: Tournament Coordinator - Owen Kinney

Entry & Eligibility Information
Entries Open: February 8, 2023 at 9:00 AM
Exempt Entry Deadline: March 1, 2023 at 5:00 PM
Entries Close: March 28, 2023 at 5:00 PM 

Entry Fee: $220 

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers who are 55 years of age or older by the first round of tournament play, and reside in the South Texas region (31’ parallel, Salado, TX and South is the break point). Applicants must have a certified WHS Handicap Index of 8.4 or less for the Senior division and 10.0 or less for the Super Senior division. Please reference TGA Competition Policies for further details, including Policies and Procedures, and Terms of Competition.

Entry Procedure:  The field will be established in the order in which entries are received with a priority for exempt players in each division until the published exemption deadline of March 1, 2023 at 5:00 PM. Once the exemption deadline has passed, and if the field or a division is not full, the TGA will fill the remaining spots in the field with waitlisted entries, which may affect the size of each division. These entries will be accepted into the field in the order in which they were received, regardless of division.

Championship Information

Format/Field Size: Play will be contested over 36 holes of stroke play. The field will be limited to 84 players, 60 seniors and 24 super seniors.

Divisions: The field will be split up in two divisions; Senior (55 or older as of the tournament start date) and Super Senior (65 or older as of the tournament start date). Each division will play from different tees/yardage with a separate champion being crowned in each division. Super Seniors must declare on application if they wish to compete in the Senior division.

Practice Round Information: Each player is allowed one (1) practice round at the rate of $47.00 (Monday-Thursday) or $55.00 (Friday-Sunday), plus applicable taxes. Practice rounds can be booked up to seven (7) days in advance. Players must contact the host club directly to schedule a practice round.    

Registration Information: There is no no official registration for TGA Regional Events. Players are asked to arrive to their respective starting tee 8-10 minutes prior to their starting time. 

Starting Times/Pairings Information: Starting times / pairings for the first round will be made no later than March 30, 2023 online at Final round starting times/pairings will be available in the evening preceding play (approximately one hour after the completion of play) online at Final round starting times/pairings will be re-drawn based on total score following the previous round of play.

For complete championship information, click here.   

Schedule of Events

Wednesday, February 8 
9:00 AM - Registration Open

Wednesday, March 1 
5:00 PM - Registration Exempt Deadline

Tuesday, March 28 
5:00 PM - Registration Close

Thursday, March 30 
5:00 PM - Player Information & Round 1 Pairings Released

Tuesday, April 4 
8:00 AM - Round 1 Begins off #1 & #10

Wednesday, April 5 
8:00 AM - Final Round Begins off #1 & #10
Following Play - Awards Presentation

Provided players are otherwise eligible, exemptions are given to the following:

a) Top ten (10) finishers and ties in previous year's Regional Senior (Senior Division)

  • Mike Booker, Kurtis Lilley, Jed Shreve, Bill Shock, Todd Lacoste, Bobby Baugh, John Pierce, Kurt Martin, Charlie Jabbia, Tommy Tucker

b) Top five (5) finishers and ties in previous year's Regional Senior (Super Senior Division)

  • Mike Vacek, Alan Fama, Kent Samuel, Jamey Friesleben, Gary Noto

c) Last five (5) Regional Senior Amateur Champions (Senior Division)

  • Mike Booker ('22) , David Ortego ('21), Scott Smith ('19), John Pierce ('18), Mike Booker ('17)

d) Last five (5) Regional Senior Amateur Champions (Super Senior Division)

  • Mike Vacek ('22), Mike Vacek ('21), Mike Arnold ('19), Kent Samuel ('18), Mike Arnold ('17) 

e) Top ten (10) finishers and ties in previous year's Texas Senior Amateur

  • Sandy Pierce, Andy Hydorn, Mike Booker, Terrence Miskell, Kyle Kelting*, David Ortego, Chuck Gardner*, Lewis Stephenson*, Lee Sandlin*, Tray Tyner

f) Three (3) host club exemptions

* indicates player is ineligible