Texas Mid-Am Match Play

Cross Timbers Golf Course

July 27-30, 2023

General Information
Date: July 27-30, 2023
Host Club: Cross Timbers Golf Course 
TGA Staff Contact: Senior Tournament Director - Chris Untiedt

Entry & Eligibility Information
Entries Open: May 24, 2023 at 9:00 AM
Exempt Entry Deadline: June 14, 2023 at 5:00 PM 
Entries Close: July 19, 2023 at 5:00 PM 

Entry Fee: $250 

Eligibility:  Entries are open to male amateur golfers who reside in the state of Texas age 25 or older as of the first round of tournament play, with a WHS Handicap Index of 5.4 or less. Please reference TGA Competition Policies for further details, including Policies and Procedures, and Terms of Competition.

Entry Procedure: The field will be established in the order in which entries are received with a priority for exempt players until the published deadline of Wednesday, June 14, 2023 at 5:00 PM. Once the exemption deadline has passed, and if the field is not full, the TGA will fill the remaining spots in the field with waitlisted entries. These entries will be accepted into the field in the order in which they were received. 

Championship Information

Format/Field Size: The championship is scheduled for 18 holes of stroke play qualifying on Thursday, July 27, 2023. The low 32 players from stroke play qualifying will advance to match play beginning on Friday, July 28, 2023. The field is limited to 90 players.

Practice Round Information: Each player is allowed one (1) complimentary practice round on Wednesday, July 26, 2023 only. Players must contact the Cross Timbers GC golf shop to schedule a practice round tee time.

Registration Information: Player registration will take place on Wednesday, July 26th from 9:30 am – 4:00 pm. Registration will be located inside the clubhouse adjacent to the golf shop. Please check-in prior to your scheduled practice round.  If you are unable to play an official practice round on Wednesday, July 26th, please inform the TGA staff that you cannot register, but intend to compete in the championship. 

Starting Times/Pairings Information: Starting times / pairings for stroke play qualifying will be made available no later than Monday, July 24, 2023 online at www.txga.org. Match play starting times/pairings will be available in the evening preceding play (approximately one hour after the completion of play) online at www.txga.org. Match play seeding will be based on stroke play qualifying score and position.

For complete championship information, click here.   

Schedule of Events

Wednesday, May 24
9:00 AM - Registration Open 

Wednesday, June 14
5:00 PM - Registration Exempt Deadline 

Wednesday, July 19
5:00 PM - Registration Close 

Monday, July 24
5:00 PM - Player Information & Stroke Play Qualifying Starting Times/Pairings 

Wednesday, July 26
7:30 AM - Practice Rounds 

Thursday, July 27 
7:30 AM - Stroke Play Qualifying Begins  (#1 & #10 Tees)

Friday, July 28
7:30 AM - Round of 32 Matches Begin (#1 Tee)
1:00 PM - Round of 16 Matches Begin (#1 Tee)

Saturday, July 29 
7:30 AM - Quarterfinal Matches Begin (#1 Tee) 
12:30 PM - Semifinal Matches Begin (#1 Tee) 

Sunday, July 30 
7:30 AM - Championship Match Begins (#1 Tee)
Following Play - Awards Presentation 

Provided players are otherwise eligible, exemptions are given to the following:

a) Last three (3) Texas Amateur Champions

  • Holden Wisener* ('22), Austyn Reily* ('21), Trey Bosco* ('20)

b) Last three (3) Texas Mid-Amateur Champions

  • Ryan O'Rear ('22), Frederick Janneck ('21), Ryan O'Rear ('20)

c) Players advancing into the Round of 16 in match play portion of previous year’s Mid-Amateur Match Play

  • Jason Schultz, Rob Couture, Zach Atkinson, Matt Miller, Clay Fullick, Seth Murphy, Scott Maurer, Jace Moore, Rick Sulzer, Colby Harwell, Brent Battson, John Stollenwerck, Kevin Doskocil, Kent Yarbrough, Sean Heidrick, Judd Pritchard

d) Top 10 finishers and ties in previous year’s Texas Mid-Amateur

  • Ryan O'Rear, Zach Atkinson, Christopher Wheeler, Frederick Janneck, Colby Amparan, Colby Harwell, Trey Todd, Ryan Zamorano, Dan Depasquale, Josh Pasco, Cole Wiederkehr

e) Top 10 finishers and ties in previous year’s Texas Amateur 

  • Holden Wisener*, Bobby Massa, Jake Doggett*, Zach Atkinson, Hayes Hamilton*, Francois Jacobs*, Travis Woolf, Hunter Bott*, Jason Schultz, Garrett Leek*

f) Top two (2) and ties in current year’s Regional Mid-Amateurs

  • North: C.J. Brock, Brock Mulder
  • South: Logan Thomason, Logan Boatner, John Hunter, Juan Salcedo Signoret

g) Low Mid-Master from previous year’s Texas Mid-Amateur

  • Zach Atkinson

h) Three (3) host club exemptions

* indicates player is ineligible