39th Texas Mid-Amateur

Abilene Country Club (South)
September 23-25


Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers who reside in the state of Texas, age 25 or older as of the first round of tournament play, with a WHS Handicap Index of 8.4 or less. Please reference TGA Policies and Procedures for further details, including Terms of the Competition.

Provided players are otherwise eligible, exemptions are given to the following:

1. Last five (5) Texas Mid-Amateur Champions;

  • 2021: Frederick Janneck
  • 2020: Ryan O’Rear
  • 2019: Christopher Wheeler
  • 2018, 2017: Colby Harwell

2. Top 5 Mid-Amateur finishers (and ties) within the Top 25 of current year’s Texas Amateur;

  • TBD (113th Texas Amateur: July 16-19, 2022 at Willow Brook Country Club)

3. Last five (5) Texas Amateur Champions;

  • 2021: Austyn Reily (Ineligible)
  • 2020: Trey Bosco (Ineligible)
  • 2019: Ryan Grider (Ineligible)
  • 2018: Mitchell Meissner (ineligible)
  • 2017: Zander Lozano (ineligible)

4. Top 20 finishers in the previous year’s Texas Mid-Amateur;

  • Frederick Janneck
  • Clay Fullick
  • Aaron Hickman
  • Ryan O’Rear
  • John Yerger
  • William Aycock
  • Eric Lodge
  • Brandon Immel
  • Todd Albert
  • Clay Hodge
  • Casey Carnes
  • Matt Williams
  • Michael Parker
  • Christopher Wheeler
  • Jess Bonneau
  • Austin Smith
  • Rob Couture
  • Anthony Estorga
  • Sean Heidrick
  • Matt Van Zandt

5. Low Mid-Master in previous year’s Mid-Amateur;

  • Clay Fullick
  • Aaron Hickman

6. Current year Mid-Amateur Match Play Winner & Runner-Up & Semifinalists;

  • TBD (Texas Mid-Amateur Match Play: TBD)

7. Top 15 finishers (and ties) on the previous year’s TGA Statewide Player of the Year Points List;

  • Christopher Wheeler
  • Aaron Hickman
  • Austyn Reily (Ineligible)
  • Ryan O’Rear
  • Jake Doggett (Ineligible)
  • Frederick Janneck
  • Colby Harwell
  • Gary Ezmerlian
  • Chris Berzina (Ineligible)
  • JT Pittman (Ineligible)
  • Travis Vick (Ineligible)
  • Clay Fullick
  • Clayton King (Ineligible)
  • Grayson Blunt (Ineligible)
  • Rob Couture

8. Three (3) host club exemptions;

  • TBD
  • TBD
  • TBD

9. Low Mid-Master in current year’s TGA Regional Mid-Amateurs;

  • North: Jason Shultz
  • South: Daniel Depasquale

10. Top three (3) finishers (and ties) in the current year’s TGA Regional Mid-Amateur, not already exempt, within the top ten (10) finishers;

  • North: Scott Maurer
  • North: Robert Johnson
  • North: Mark Strickland
  • South: Randy Lance
  • South: Jonathan Keane
  • South: Tino Flores
  • South: Brandon Rougeau

11. Top two (2) finishers & ties in current year’s TGA Regional Amateurs, not already exempt, within the top ten (10) finishers;

  • TBD (North Amateur: August 5-7, 2022 at Harbor Lakes Golf Club)
  • TBD (South Amateur: August 5-7, 2022 at Victoria Country Club)

12. Previous year’s Texas Senior Amateur Champion;

  • Gary Durbin

13. Previous year’s TGA North and South Region Player of the Year;

  • North: Gant Bills
  • South: Padden Nelson

14. Top two (2) Mid-Amateur finishers in the current year’s West Texas Amateur;

  • TBD (94th West Texas Amateur: July 15-17, 2022 at Odessa Country Club)

15. Current Year’s TGA Medalist North and TGA Medalist Hill Country Players of the Year.

  • North: TBD
  • Hill Country: TBD

16. Previous year’s Texas Senior Player of the Year;

  • Lewis Stevenson

17. Previous year’s U.S. Mid-Amateur Match Play qualifiers;

  • Zach Atkinson
  • Colby Harwell
  • Andrew Paysee
  • Brady Shivers

18. Top 1500 in the R&A/USGA World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) at time of entry.

For complete past results, click here.

The TGA reserves the right to select players to be in the field. Exempt players must complete registration for the event by the published exemption deadline or they will lose their spot in the field.

NOTE: All players who are not exempt under the categories listed above for the 39th Texas Mid-Amateur must participate in an 18-hole individual stroke play sectional qualifier.