Texas Golf Association, Since 1906
Texas Golf Association, Since 1906

Doris Kallina / 'Nez Muhleman Scholarship

Doris Kallina / 'Nez Muhleman Scholarship


The WTGA Scholarship Program was created to provide financial assistance to support and encourage young women golfers who are seeking higher education.  The scholarship recipients shall exemplify academic proficiency and illustrate a connection to the game of golf.

Scholarship Details

History of the WTGA and TGA

The Women’s Texas Golf Association (“WTGA”) was founded in 1916 and served as the governing body for women’s amateur golf in Texas for almost 100 years.  The WTGA established a scholarship program in 2008 and raised funds to ensure the investment in young women continued for many years to come.
The Texas Golf Association (“TGA”) was founded in 1906 with a mission to "promote the playing and advancement of the Royal and Ancient Game of Golf in Texas."  Today the TGA is one of the largest and most respected golf associations in the country, with an ongoing commitment of ensuring that the top resources and most dependable staff are in place to meet current and future needs of its members, contestants, volunteers and all who strive to preserve the great traditions of the game.
In 2014, the WTGA merged with the TGA creating a single organization tasked with ensuring that the game of golf grows and prospers in Texas for all gofers.  All of the funds contributed by the WTGA in the merger have been restricted for use for established charitable purposes and other Women’s Initiatives.  The WTGA Scholarship program is one of the purposes of these funds and is administered by the TGA Foundation with recommendations from the WTGA Committee.

Scholarship History

The scholarship is named for Doris Kallina and ‘Nez Muhleman, two women who have given their time, energy and resources to promote women’s golf in Texas for many years.  Both served as Past Presidents of the WTGA and also have long and distinguished legacies with the USGA as volunteers, committee members and officials.  Their contributions to the game of golf have benefitted countless women and girls and their dedication, character and lifelong connection to golf are attributes that the WTGA Scholarship Program endeavors to honor and encourage in the next generation of young women.

Financial Details

One Doris Kallina / ‘Nez Muhleman Scholarship will be awarded in 2019.
  1. The four-year value of the scholarship is $25,000.
  2. $3,000 will be awarded to a recipient in 2019.
  3. The award is given annually and renewal must be applied for each year according to the guidelines below.  The scholarship is committed for up to four (4) years to the selected 2019 recipient in increasing amounts each year as follows.
2019 2020 2021 2022
$3,000 $5,000 $7,000 $10,000
Scholarship funds will only be disbursed to a university or previously approved third party, and will not be paid directly to the scholarship recipient.

Current and Past Recipents 


Abigail Dobbs


Rakeshia Wines



  1. Applicants must be female and a U.S. Citizen with a residence of record in Texas.
  2. Applicants must demonstrate participation in an organized junior golf program.
  3. Applicants may not be the immediate family of any current TGA Director, Women’s Committee member or substantial contributor to the TGA.
  4. Applicants must have completed (or plan to complete) high school prior to the award year, and must be enrolled (or planning to enroll) as a full time student at an accredited college or university located within the United States.  A full time student is defined as one who is taking 12 or more hours in a course of study leading to a traditional associate (2 year) or baccalaureate (4 year) degree, or considered a full-time student by her respective institution.
  5. Applicants’ cumulative grade point average must be at least 2.75 on a 4.0 grading scale.
  6. The application must be completed in its entirety and signed and dated by both the applicant and the applicants’ parent(s) or guardian.
  7. Applicants must demonstrate participation in extra-curricular activities.
  8. Applicants must provide a letter of recommendation from school staff, and an appropriate representative from the junior golf program in which she has participated.
  9. Applicants must provide two personal references which may be contacted during the selection process.  At least one of the references should be a peer.

Application Procedures

The Doris Kallina / ‘Nez Muhleman Scholarship will be awarded based on a review of four primary criteria as demonstrated in the following application and attachments.
  1. Academic proficiency (Section II)
  2. Desire for higher education (Section III)
  3. Honors / Extracurricular activities (Section IV)
  4. Participation in organized junior golf program (Section V)
A cover letter, the completed application and all required attachments must be submitted electronically no later than March 1st, 2019 by 5:00 PM CST. 
The Women’s Committee will review all submitted applications and recommend a recipient for approval by the TGA Foundation Board of Directors.  The successful candidate will be notified no later than March 25th, 2019.

Applicant Responsibilities

The successful applicant must:
  1. Enroll and maintain full-time enrollment at an accredited college or university located within the United States.
  2. Maintain a 2.75 GPA on a 4.0 grading scale.
  3. Attend an event to be determined by the Women's Committee and publicly accept the scholarship award.
  4. Allow use of their photo and information from their application for promotional activities for the Women’s Committee and TGA Foundation.
  5. Apply for renewal as follows in order to receive scholarship funds in any year after 2019.

Renewal Procedures

  1. This scholarship may be renewed annually for the applicable amount (as above), not to exceed a period of four years.  The recipient must request renewal no later than June 1 annually.
  2. The renewal applicant must provide current contact information for recipient and family contact.
  3. The renewal applicant must provide a transcript for the prior year (Must have completed at least a full-time class load and maintained at least a cumulative 2.75 GPA on 4.0 scale).
  4. The renewal applicant must provide a brief narrative summary of prior year college experience and future plans for use in Women’s Committee and TGA Foundation communications.
  5. Renewal may be denied to any candidate failing to meet any of the above requirements.
If a candidate fails to apply for or gain renewal during the term of the scholarship, all remaining years of eligibility will be forfeited and applications will be opened for new candidates.
Stay Connected
Reynolds Lake