Texas Golf Association, Since 1906
Texas Golf Association, Since 1906

College Scholarships

College Scholarships

The Women’s Texas Golf Association (“WTGA”) was founded in 1916 and has served as the governing body for women’s amateur golf in Texas for 100 years.  The WTGA established a scholarship program in 2008 and raised funds to ensure the investment in young women continued for many years to come.

The Texas Golf Association (“TGA”) was founded in 1906 with a mission to "promote the playing and advancement of the Royal and Ancient Game of Golf in Texas."  Today the TGA is one of the largest and most respected golf associations in the country, with an ongoing commitment of ensuring that the top resources and most dependable staff are in place to meet current and future needs of its members, contestants, volunteers and all who strive to preserve the great traditions of the game.

In 2014, the WTGA merged with the TGA creating a single organization tasked with ensuring that the game of golf grows and prospers in Texas for all gofers.  All of the funds contributed by the WTGA in the merger have been restricted for use for established charitable purposes and other Women’s Initiatives.  The WTGA Scholarship program is one of the purposes of these funds and is administered by the TGA Foundation with recommendations from the WTGA Committee.

Scholarship History

The scholarship is named for Doris Kallina and ‘Nez Muhleman, two women who have given their time, energy and resources to promote women’s golf in Texas for many years.  Both served as Past Presidents of the WTGA and also have long and distinguished legacies with the USGA as volunteers, committee members and officials.  Their contributions to the game of golf have benefitted countless women and girls and their dedication, character and lifelong connection to golf are attributes that the WTGA Scholarship Program endeavors to honor and encourage in the next generation of young women.

In 2015, the TGA Foundation modified the WTGA Scholarship Program to combine scholarship funds into a larger award in order to deepen the impact of the program on the recipient.  Rakeshia Wines received the 2015 'Nez Muhlemen / Doris Kallina scholarship and will be awarded $25,000 over four years.  The next scholarship will be awarded in 2019.  Click HERE for the full story.

Scholarship Winners

2015 - Rakeshia Wines (Richardson, TX) Click HERE for the full story.

2014 - Brielle Richardson (Frisco, TX) and Camille Nasardeen (Allen, TX) are our 2014 Scholars. Click HERE to meet our award winners.
2013 - Elise Pope (Longview, TX) and Mary McCreight, (Yantis, TX) are our 2013 Scholars. Click HERE to meet our award winners.
2012 - Gabriella Rangel (Seguin, TX) and Emily Champagne (San Angelo, TX) are the WTGA 2012 Scholarship Recipients. Gabriella plans to major in business administration and Emily will pursue a nursing career. Click HERE to meet our award winners.
2011 - The WTGA announced our 2011 Scholar winners, Alex Neal (Baird, TX) and Elena Thomas (Waxahachie, TX). Alex is attending Texas A & M and Elena is attending Appalachian State University in North Carolina. Click HERE to meet our award winners.
2010 - The WTGA announced their 2010 scholarship recipient is Michelle Hartenstein of Austin, TX. Michelle will be attending Wake Forest to pursue her Health and Exercise Science major.
2009 - The WTGA announced their 2009 scholarship recipients, Naima Rivas from Grapevine, TX and Andrea Brenckman from Willis, TX. Naima will be attending the University of Texas to pursue her biochemistry (Pre-Med) major and Andrea will attend TX A&M University where she will pursue interdisciplinary studies with a math minor.
2008 - Elizabeth Stewart from Mission and Chelsea Clement from Lone Oak were our first ever recipients. Elizabeth attended Belmont University in Nashville, TN and Chelsea attended TX A&M of Commerce.
Women's Home
Stay Connected