South Amateur

Aug. 5 - 7
Victoria Country Club

Headliner Here

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.

General Information

Date: August 5-7, 2022 

Host Club: Victoria Country Club 

TGA Staff Contact:  Tournament Coordinator - Owen Kinney 

Entry & Eligibility Information

Entries Open: June 15, 2022 at 9:00 AM 

Exempt Entry Deadline: July 6, 2022 at 5:00 PM 
Entries Close: July 29, 2022 at 5:00 PM 

Entry Fee: $290 

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers residing in the South Texas region (31’ parallel, Salado, TX and South is the break point) with a certified WHS Handicap Index of 8.4 or less. Please reference Men's Competition Policies for further details, including Policies and Procedures, and Terms of Competition.

Entry Procedure:  The field will be established in the order in which entries are received with a priority for exempt players until the published exemption deadline of July 6, 2022 at 5:00 PM. Once the exemption deadline has passed, and if the field  is not full, the TGA will fill the remaining spots in the field with waitlisted entries. These entries will be accepted into the field in the order in which they were received.

Championship Information

Format/Field Size: Play will be contested over 54 holes of stroke play. The field will be limited to 84 players.

Practice Round Information: Each player is allowed one (1) practice round at the rate of $60.00, plus applicable taxes. Practice round availability is anytime Tuesday-Thursday and Saturday's based on availability. Players must contact the host club directly to schedule a practice round.    

Registration Information: There is no no official registration for TGA Regional Events. Players are asked to arrive to their respective starting tee 8-10 minutes prior to their starting time. 

Starting Times/Pairings Information: Starting times / pairings for the first round will be made no later than August 3, 2022 online at Second and Final round starting times/pairings will be available in the evening preceding play (approximately one hour after the completion of play) online at Final round starting times/pairings will be re-drawn based on total score following the previous rounds of play.

For complete championship information, click here.

Schedule of Events

Friday, August 5

8:00 AM - Round 1 begins (#1 & #10 Tees) 

Saturday, August 6

8:00 AM - Round 2 begins (#1 & #10 Tees) 

Sunday, August 7

8:00 AM - Final Round begins (#1 & #10 Tees) 

Following Play - Awards Presentation 

Provided players are otherwise eligible, exemptions are given to the following

a) Top five (5) players on current year's (2022) Medalist Hill Country Points:

b) Last five (5) South Amateur Champions;

  • 2021 -Padden Nelson 
  • 2019 -Cody Banach 
  • 2018 -Jacob Davis 
  • 2017 -Tim Hamm 
  • 2016 -Danny Simmerman 

c) Last five (5) South Mid-Amateur Champions;

  • 2021 -Robert Gwin
  • 2019 -Devin Young 
  • 2018 -Broc Haymon 
  • 2017 -Broc Haymon 
  • 2016 -Danny Simmerman 

d) Current year's (2022) South Senior Amateur Champion (Senior Division);

e) Top ten (10) finishers (and ties) in previous year's South Amateur;

  • Padden Nelson, Joshua Lim, Hayes Hamilton, Niko Nebout, Broc Haymon, Holden Hamilton, Todd Albert, Andrew Jacobe, Shaheen Momin, Brent Battson, Charles White, Jack Burke 

f) Three (3) Host Club exemptions.