Texas Golf Association, Since 1906
Texas Golf Association, Since 1906

USGA Women's State Team

USGA Women's State Team

The USGA Women’s State Team Championship is held every two years.  Every state sending a team is authorized by the USGA to determine the selection process for team members*. In Texas, the WTGA is responsible for formulating the selection criteria and provides significant funds for the team’s championship expenses. The team comprises three players and a non-playing captain, who will be a current WTGAC Committee member or a nominee.
Player selection is based on a point system involving the WTGA State Amateur Championship and the USGA qualifying rounds and championships shown below. Points are accumulated over a two year period running between State Amateur Championships. Players will receive ONLY the highest point level earned for each event and points will NOT be added at every level for each event. For example, a player who wins the Women’s Texas State Open receives 60 points, not 120 (60 for win, 30 for top 5, 15 for top 10, etc.).

Tie for the last team spot will be broken in the following order: 1) By the better finish in the Championship Flight of the 2017 WTGA State Amateur Championship; 2) By the better finish in the 2017 Women's Stroke Play Championship; 3) Most points accumulated beginning after completion of the 2016 WTGA State Amateur championship; 4) Better finish in most recent event with all players in the same field; 5) Decision by the WTGA Committee.

General Eligibility Requirements:

Open to female amateur golfers who:

  • Meet all current Women’s TGA eligibility requirements

  • Participate in a minimum of one (1) State Event over the course of the points earning period.

  • *Are not current members of any intercollegiate or high school golf team at the time of the championship.

If you have any questions regarding the point system and the State Team Championship, please contact the WTGAC Committee or a staff member.
*State associations were given the option to choose their teams by any method, with one restriction: college players were ineligible because of NCAA bylaws. The NCAA rule states that a player may only play in an international team match when that team is sponsored by the national governing body, such as the Curtis Cup, or the Women's World Amateur Team Championship. Any infraction of that rule means the college player is faced with being declared ineligible for the remainder of the season and the following season.

Women's Home
Stay Connected
RTJ Trail