West Texas Amateur

Bentwood Country Club
July 17 – 19

JT Pittman Wins 92nd

West Texas Amateur

SAN ANGELO – JT Pittman of Monahans won the 92nd West Texas Amateur after a final round of 2-under-par 70 at Bentwood Country Club. The Midland College sophomore finished at 8-under overall and two strokes better than the field. Lewis Stephenson of Burleson won the Senior Division by two strokes after firing a 6-under 66 in the final round. Doug Hopton-Jones of Mansfield won the Super Senior Division by three strokes after rounds of 75-73-73. READ MORE

Tournament Information

Date: July 17-19, 2020
Host Club: Bentwood Country Club        
Address: 2111 Club House Lane, San Angelo, TX 76094
Phone: (325) 944-0520
TGA Staff Contact: Tournament Manager, Andrea Daly 

Entry & Eligibility Information 
Entries Open: June 2, 2020 @ 9:00 AM
Entries Close: July 10, 2020 @ 5:00 PM
Exempt Deadline: June 17, 2020 @ 5:00 PM
Entry Fee: $270

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers who reside in the northern and southern regions of the state of Texas who have a WHS Handicap Index of 10.0 or less. To be eligible for the Senior Division, golfers must be age 55 or older as of the first round of tournament play.  To be eligible for the Super Senior Division, golfers must be age 65 or older as of the first round of tournament play. Please reference TGA Policies and Procedures for further details, including Policies and Procedures, and Terms of Competition.

Entry Procedure: The field will be established in order in which entries are received with a priority for exempt players in each division until the published exempt deadline of Wednesday, June 17 at 5:00 PM. Once the exemption deadline has passed, and if the field or a division is not full, the TGA will fill the remaining spots in the field with waitlisted entries, which may affect the size of each division. These entries will be accepted into the field in the order in which they were received, regardless of division. For additional information regarding the wait list and when the number of applicants exceeds the field capacity, please refer to TGA Policies and Procedures.

Championship Information

Format/Field Size and Cut: The championship will be contested over 54 holes of stroke play with three (3) divisions; Championship, Senior, and Super Senior. Each division will play from separate tees/yardages and separate champions will be recognized in each division. 

At the conclusion of 36 holes the field will be cut to the low 72 players (and ties), with a pro-rated representation from each division.  The pro-rated allocation of players making the cut from each division will be reflective of the number of players in each division and pro-rated representation of players making the cut (before ties) will be announced in conjunction with pairings being posted.

The field is limited to 144, as outlined below:

  • Championship Division: Open (84 players)
  • Senior Division: 55 & older (42 players) 
  • Super Senior Division: 65 & older (18 players)

Please click here for full player information for the West Texas Amateur.

Schedule of Events

Thursday, July 16
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM - Practice Rounds

Friday, July 17
7:30 AM - Round 1 Wave 1  begins (#1 & #10  tees)
12:30 PM - Round 1 Wave 2 begins (#1 & #10 tees)

Saturday, July 18 
7:30 AM - Round 2 Wave 1 begins (#1 & #10 tees)
12:30 PM - Round 2 Wave 2 begins (#1 & #10 tees)
Following Play - Field cut to low 72 players (and ties)

Sunday, July 19 
7:30 AM - Final Round begins (#1 & #10 tees)

Exemptions: Provided players are otherwise eligible, exemptions are given to the following:

a) Top five (5) finishers and ties in current year’s North & South Mid-Amateur: Tournaments Canceled

b) Top five (5) finishers and ties in previous year’s North & South Amateur: Will Adams, Tom Bevington, Christopher Wheeler, Dawson Ovard, Gary Ezmerlian, Cody Banach, Tyler Uhlig, Logan Pate, Broc Haymon, Jess Bonneau, Ross Mackay

c) Last five (5) West Texas Amateur Champions: Jackson Markman, David Bolen (2018 and 2017), Andrew Wyatt, Mark Jones Jr.

d) Last five (5) West Texas Amateur Senior Division Champions: Chuck Palmer (2019 and 2015), Ralph Ellis, John Pierce, Lee Sandlin

e) Last five (5) West Texas Amateur Super Senior Division Champions: Doug Hpoton-Jones, Ed Brooks, Patrick Pritchett, Michael Hastings, Chris Larsen

f) Top Ten (10) finishers and ties in previous year’s West Texas Amateur: Travis Woolf, Rick Houston, Will Adams, Neil Dufford, Andy Lopez, Brian Scherer, Marcus Jones, Jaden Chavez, Shayler Dance, Casey Flower, Grant Bills, Jake Leatherwood, Joseph Kirk, Tripp Wallace

g) Top five (5) finishers and ties in previous year’s West Texas Amateur Senior Division: Ed Brooks, John Pierce, John Derrick, Lewis Stephenson

h) Top three (3) finishers and ties in previous year’s West Texas Amateur Super Senior Division: Tom McGraw, Ed Turner

i) Three (3) Host Club Exemptions: