Texas Super Senior Amateur

Riverbend Country Club

April 22-24, 2024

General Information
Date: April 22-24, 2024
Host Club: Riverbend Country Club
TGA Staff Contact: Owen Kinney - Tournament Manager 

Entry & Eligibility Information
Entries Open: February 14, 2024 at 9:00 AM
Exempt Entry Deadline: March 6, 2024 at 5:00 PM
Entries Close: April 10, 2024 at 5:00 PM 

Entry Fee: $350

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers residing in the state of Texas age 65 or older as of the first round of tournament play, with a certified WHS Handicap Index of 12.4 or less. To be eligible for the Legends Division, golfers must be age 75 or older as of the first round of tournament play, with a Handicap Index of 16.4 or less. Please reference TGA Men's Competition Policies for further details, including Policies and Procedures, and Terms of Competition.

Entry Procedure: The field will be established in the order in which entries are received with a priority for exempt players in each division until the published exemption deadline of March 6, 2024 at 5:00 PM. Once the exemption deadline has passed, and if the field or a division is not full, the TGA will fill the remaining spots in the field with wait listed entries, which may affect the size of each division. These entries will be accepted into the field in the order in which they were received, regardless of division.

Championship Information

Format/Field Size: Play will be contested over 54 holes of stroke play. The field will be limited to 84 players, 60 Super Seniors and 24 Legends.

Practice Round Information: Each player is allowed one (1) complimentary practice round on Sunday, April 21, only. Players must contact the host club directly to schedule a practice round AFTER Wednesday, April 10, 2024. Golf shop phone number is (281) 491-2500.

Registration Information: There will be an official registration for the Texas Super Senior Amateur on Sunday, April 21, 2024. Players are asked to arrive and check in with the TGA prior to their practice round tee time.

Starting Times/Pairings Information: Starting times/pairings for the first and second rounds will be made no later than April 16, 2024 online at www.txga.org. Final round starting times/pairings will be available in the evening preceding play (approximately one hour after the completion of play) online at www.txga.org. Final round starting times/pairings will be re-drawn based on total score following the previous rounds of play.

For complete championship information, click here.   

Schedule of Events

Wednesday, February 14
9:00 AM - Registration Open

Wednesday, March 6
5:00 PM - Registration Exempt Deadline

Wednesday, April 10
5:00 PM - Registration Close

Tuesday, April 16
5:00 PM - Player Information, Round 1/2 Pairings Released

Sunday, April 21
All Day - Player Practice Rounds (#1 Tee)

Monday, April 22
8:30 AM - Round 1 Begins (#1 & #10 Tees)

Tuesday, April 23
8:30 AM - Round 2 Begins (#1 & #10 Tees)

Wednesday, April 24
8:30 AM - Final Round Begins (#1 & #10 Tees)
Following Play - Awards Presentation

Provided players are otherwise eligible, exemptions are given to the following:

a) Last five (5) Texas Senior Amateur Champions;

  • Gary Durbin ('23), Sandy Pierce* ('22), Gary Durbin ('21), John Derrick* ('20), Gary Durbin ('19)

b) Last five (5) Texas Super Senior Amateur Champions;

  • Chuck Gardner ('23), Chuck Gardner ('22), Wayne Wright ('21), 2020 - Canceled due to COVID-19, Ed Brooks ('19)

c) Last two (2) Legends Division Champions of Texas Super Senior Amateur;

  • Bill Holstead ('23), J Wayne Franklin ('22)

d) Top 15 finishers (and ties) in previous year’s Texas Senior Amateur;

  • Rusty Troy*, Mike Peck, Todd Bonneau*, Lane Weitz*, Todd Lacoste*, Trip Long, John Dowdall*, Bart Goodwin, Mike Booker, Chuck Gardner, Kyle Kelting*, Terrence Miskell*, Tray Tyner*, Sandy Pierce*, Bobby Baugh, Lewis Stephenson*, Gary Durbin 

e) Top 15 finishers (and ties) in previous year’s Texas Super Senior Amateur;

  • Doug Hopton-Jones, John Stark, Wayne Wright, Michael Puls, Steve Moran, Dave Moore, Mike Booker, John Grace, Lee Sandlin, Pat Youngs, Dave Davis, Alan Fama, Ed Turner, Jerry Hudgins, Chuck Gardner 

f) Top three (3) finishers (and ties) in the Legends Division of previous year’s Texas Super Senior Amateur;

  • J Wayne Franklin, David Wagner, Ben Hagins, Bill Holstead

g) Any player that qualified for previous year’s U.S. Senior Open;

  • Contact TGA for exemption details

h) Any player that advanced to Match Play in the previous year’s U.S. Senior Amateur;

  • Contact TGA for exemption details

i) Top five (5) finishers (and ties) in Super Senior Division of previous year’s West Texas Amateur;

  • Lee Sandlin, Bobby J Haney, Gary Tully, Mike Peck, Doug Hopton-Jones

j) Top ten (10) finishers (and ties) in Super Senior Division of previous year’s Regional Senior Amateurs;

  • North: Keith McKelvy, Lelan Chiles, Gary Tully, Doug Hopton-Jones, Marshall Morgan, Michael Betz, Tom Takes, Randy Sage, Jim Quinn, Craig Maxwell, Rick Lindsay
  • South: Ron Trevino, David Pocknall, Rick Osborne, John Neyland, Jeff Boling, Thomas F. Rahlfs, Rick Turner, Kent Samuel, Wayne Hollingsworth, Steve Moran, Charles Reeve 

k) Last three (3) Texas Senior Play of the Year recipients;

  • Gary Durbin ('23), Mike Booker ('22), Lewis Stephenson* ('21)

l) Top three (3) finishers and ties in previous year's Texas Super Senior Player of the Year;

  • Chuck Gardner, Gary Durbin, Pat Youngs

m) Three (3) host club exemptions.

  • TBD

* indicates player is ineligible