South Amateur

Galveston Country Club
August 6-8

General Information

Date: August 6-8, 2021
Host Club: Galveston Country Club
Address: 14228 Stewart Rd, Galveston, TX 77554
Golf Shop: (409) 737-9830
TGA Staff Contact: Tournament Manager, Justin Guthtrie

Entry & Eligibility Information

Entries Open: June 16, 2021 @ 5:00 PM
Entries Close: July 30, 2021 @ 5:00 PM
Exempt Deadline: July 7, 2021 @ 5:00 PM

Entry Fee: $290

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers residing in the South Texas region (31’ parallel, Salado, TX and South is the break point) with a certified WHS Handicap Index of 8.4 or less. Please reference TGA Policies and Procedures for further details, including Policies and Procedures, and Terms of Competition.

Championship Information

Format/Field Size: Play will be contested over 54 holes of Individual Stroke Play. The field is limited to 84 players.

The TGA reserves the right to select players to be in the field. For exemption request details, please view TGA Policies and ProceduresExempt players must enter by the published deadline or they will lose their exempt status and spot in the final field. 

Schedule of Events

All events will take place at Galveston Country Club, unless otherwise noted. Championship schedule is subject to changes and additions.

Friday, August 6
8:00 AM – Round 1 begins (#1 & #10 Tees)

Saturday, August 7
8:00 AM – Round 2 begins (#1 & #10 Tees)

Sunday, August 8
8:00 AM – Final Round begins (#1 & #10 Tees)
Following Play – Awards Presentation

Exemptions: Provided players are otherwise eligible, exemptions are given to the following:

A) Top five (5) players on current year’s Medalist Hill Country Point List

  • Todd Albert, Austin Fulmer, Carson Vickers, Blake Benson, Joshua Lim

B) Last five (5) South Amateur Champions

  • Cody Banach (2019), Jacob Davis (2018), Tim Hamm (2017), Danny Simmerman (2016), Nick Thornton (2015)

C) Last five (5) South Mid-Amateur Champions

  • Devin Young (2019), Broc Haymon (2018), Broc Haymon (2017), Danny Simmerman (2016), Jay Reynolds (2015)

D) Current year’s South Senior Amateur Champion (Senior Division)

  • David Ortego

E) Top ten (10) finishers (and ties) in 2019's South Amateur

  • Cody Banach, Tyler Uhlig, Logan Pate, Broc Haymon, Jess Bonneau, Ross MacKay, Hunter Bott, Nickolas Martinez, Francois Jacobs , Harrison Hineline

F) Three (3) Host Club exemptions

  • Holden Hamilton, Hayes Hamilton

Note: 2020 South Mid-Amateur and 2020 South Amateur cancelled due to COVID-19